Payne: This will be my last spring

Sunday, 03 September 2017, 09:05:07 PM. CHAMPION jockey Michelle Payne has indicated that this spring is likely to be her last in the saddle.

Payne was speaking at Sunday night’s Scobie Breasley awards and said she was making every effort to make this spring a successful one as she believed it was going to be her last one as a rider.

Payne, who attracted the attention of the nation with her win in the 2015 Melbourne Cup on $101 chance Prince Of Penzance, said her main ride this spring would be English galloper Kaspersky.

She said she had heard the rumours that her retirement was imminent but she said it’s not happening yet.

“I spoke with Kasperky’s owner today and he asked me the same question. I told him I’ve got one spring left in me and I want to make the most of it,” Payne said.

Payne rode Kaspersky into fifth placing in the Queen Anne Stakes at Royal Ascot and the Jane Chapple-Hyam trained galloper is being set for the Cox Plate.

payne-this-will-be-my-last-spring photo 1

Michelle Payne celebrates winning the 2015 Melbourne Cup on Prince of Penzance.Source:AFP

Payne will take over the training of the galloper after his spring campaign.

“It’s going to be hard to walk away but I’m aiming at riding in the spring carnival,” Payne said.

Winx was named Champion Victorian Racehorse of the Year.

Her part-owner Debbie Kepitis said winning the Victorian award as a New South Wales horse was “hard to describe.”

Kepitis said the Emirates Stakes at Flemington was still in their program after the Cox Plate.

Her jockey Hugh Bowman was at the awards and he admitted that it wasn’t until Winx won the Queen Elizabeth Stakes that he started to realise how much Winx meant to him.

“After that I realised I’m involved in a special experience I can’t ignore,” Bowman said.

Craig Williams won his fifth Scobie Breasley Medal and said it was something special.

“A few months back my mentor Vaughn Somers said I should work hard and try and win Championships and Scobie Breasley as they are something special and something I’d be proud to look back on,” Williams said.

Williams received his award at the vote count held at Peninsula, Docklands last night. It was his sixth win in the prestigious award.

Other notable winners on Sunday night were Winx who won the Victorian Horse Of The Year, David and Ben Hayes and Tom Dabernig won the Fred Hoysted Medal for their outstanding training performance on Blue Diamond Day when they trained a Group One double with Catchy winning the Blue Diamond Stakes and Sheidel the Oakleigh Plate..

Williams with 62 votes was a runaway winner from Damian Lane who finished 19 votes astern of him in second place with 43 votes.

Eight times Scobie Breasley Medal winner Damien Oliver finished third on 41 votes.

Williams also received the Roy Higgins Medal last night for winning the Melbourne Jockeys’ Premiership.

Melbourne’s champion apprentice of last season Beau Mertens finished fourth on 40 votes, one in front of last year’s winner Dwayne Dunn.

Votes were allocated by stewards at the 109 Melbourne meetings on a 3-2-1 basis.

Winx was a runaway winner in the Victorian Horse Of The Year scoring 130 votes. Black Heart Bart finished second with 64 votes and Jameka third with 32 votes.

The Victorian Racehorse Of The Year and the Fred Hoysted Award were voted on by a panel of 48, comprising 46 members of the media and Greg Carpenter and Terry Bailey. The Victorian Racehorse of the Year was done on a 3-2-1 vote basis.

Archie Alexander won the Colin Alderson Rising Star Award for trainers aged under 40 and had held their licenses for less than seven years.

John Allen won the Tommy Corrigan Award for jumps jockeys for the second year in a row.


Scobie Breasley Medal - Craig Williams

Fred Hoysted Medal - David and Ben Hayes and Tom Dabernig

Tommy Corrigan Medal - John Allen

Victorian Racehorse of the Year - Winx

Colin Alderson Rising Star Award - Archie Alexander

TROA Victorian Owner Of The Year - David Hayes

TBV Champion Victorian Sire - Writter Tycoon

TBV Leading Victorian Breeder Award - Gilgai Farm

Roy Higgins Medal (metropolitan premiership) - Craig Williams

Victorian Jockeys’ Premiership - Dean Yendall

Melbourne Apprentices’ Premiership - Beau Mertens

Melbourne Trainers’ Apprenticeship - Darren Weir

Victorian Trainers’ Premiership - Darren Weir

Originally published as Payne: This will be my last spring

...Read more
Share this

You might also like