Williams runaway winner for fifth Scobie

Monday, 04 September 2017, 06:21:50 AM. CHAMPION jockey Craig Williams has capped off a memorable 2016-17 racing season by winning his fifth Scobie Breasley Award.

williams-runaway-winner-for-fifth-scobie photo 1

Williams received his award at the vote count held at Peninsula, Docklands on Sunday night. It was his sixth win in the prestigious award.

Other notable winners named on Sunday night were Winx, who won the Victorian Horse Of The Year.

David and Ben Hayes and Tom Dabernig won the Fred Hoysted Medal for their outstanding training performance on Blue Diamond Day when they trained a Group 1 double with Catchy (Blue Diamond Stakes) and Sheidel (the Oakleigh Plate).

Williams with 62 votes was a runaway winner from Damian Lane, who finished 19 votes astern in second place with 43 votes.

williams-runaway-winner-for-fifth-scobie photo 2

Craig Williams after partnering Vega Magic to victory in the $1 million Memsie Stakes on Saturday. Picture: Getty ImagesSource:Getty Images

Eight-time Scobie Breasley Medal winner Damien Oliver finished third on 41 votes.

Williams also received the Roy Higgins Medal for winning the Melbourne Jockeys’ Premiership.

Melbourne’s champion apprentice of last season Beau Mertens finished fourth on 40 votes, one in front of last year’s winner Dwayne Dunn.

williams-runaway-winner-for-fifth-scobie photo 3

Craig Williams after winning the first Group 1 of the new Victorian season. Picture: AAPSource:AAP

Votes were allocated by stewards at the 109 Melbourne meetings on a 3-2-1 basis.

Winx was a runaway winner in the Victorian Horse Of The Year, scoring 130 votes. Black Heart Bart finished second with 64 votes and Jameka was third with 32 votes.

The Victorian Racehorse Of The Year and the Fred Hoysted Award were voted on by a panel of 48, comprising 46 members of the media and Greg Carpenter and Terry Bailey.

The Victorian Racehorse of the Year was done on a 3-2-1 vote basis.

Archie Alexander won the Colin Alderson Rising Star Award for trainers aged under 40 who had held their licenses for less than seven years.

John Allen won the Tommy Corrigan Award for jumps jockeys for the second year in a row.



Scobie Breasley Medal: Craig Williams

Fred Hoysted Medal:

David and Ben Hayes and Tom Dabernig

Tommy Corrigan Medal: John Allen

Victorian Racehorse

of the Year: Winx

Colin Alderson

Rising Star Award:

Archie Alexander


Owner of the year:

David Hayes


Victorian Sire:

Written Tycoon

Leading Victorian

Breeder Award:

Gilgai Farm

Roy Higgins Medal (Melbourne Jockeys’ Premiership):

Craig Williams

Victorian Jockeys’ Premiership:

Dean Yendall

Melbourne Apprentices’ Premiership:

Beau Mertens

Melbourne Trainers’ Premiership:

Darren Weir

Victorian Trainers’ Premiership:

Darren Weir

williams-runaway-winner-for-fifth-scobie photo 4

Winx’s stunning victory in the Cox Plate saw named as Victorian Horse Of The Year. Picture: Colleen PetchSource:News Corp Australia

Originally published as Williams runaway winner for fifth Scobie

...Read more
Share this

You might also like